About Us


Welcome to ALMDA, the Alabama state chapter of AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine. Our mission is to provide the highest quality medical care and compassionate service in Alabama’s long-term care facilities, which are among the most challenging medical environments.

By joining both ALMDA and AMDA, members can access a range of benefits, including free webinars, national advocacy, networking opportunities, clinical practice guidelines, and specialized education designed to help them succeed in the long-term care field. We encourage you to explore membership in both organizations to benefit from the educational opportunities and professional connections available fully.

We offer various membership categories to accommodate healthcare providers at all levels of patient care. If you have any questions or need assistance in selecting the right membership category, please get in touch with our Director of Specialty Society Management, Meghan Martin, at mmartin@alamedical.org.

We invite you to join us in our collective efforts to prevent suffering and advocate for our frail and vulnerable population.

Mission Statement

The Alabama Medical Directors Association is the professional association of physicians and other professionals practicing in the long term care continuum, dedicated to excellence in patient care by providing education, advocacy, information, and professional development.

Charles Nevels, MD, Tuscaloosa

2023-2024 Board of Directors


James “Steve” Donald, MD, Chatom


Board Chairman: George C. Smith Jr., MD, CMD, Lineville

President-elect: Carlos Clark II, MD, Dothan

Secretary-Treasurer: William Ben Lee, MD, Marion


Julia Booth, MD, CMD, MPH, Reform (2025)
Sally M. Ebaugh, MD, CMD, Bessemer (2025)
Greg Flippo, MD, Pinson (2024)
Boyde J. Harrison, MD, CMD, Haleyville (2025)
Ashley S. Lane, MD, Auburn (2024)
William Shane Lee, MD, CMD, Marion (2025)
Dawn Rials, CRNP, Grand Bay (2024)
Jeffrey M. Saylor, MD, MPH, Guntersville (2025)
J. Grier Stewart, MD, CMD, Tuscaloosa (2025)
George S. Sutton, MD, CMD, Mobile (2025)
James R. Yates, MD, CMD, Jacksonville (2024)

ALMDA Past Presidents

2022-2023 George C. Smith Jr., MD, CMD
2021-2022 Charles T. Nevels, MD
2020-2021 Sally M. Ebaugh, MD, CMD
2019-2020 Robert Webb, MD
2018-2019 Sally Ebaugh, MD, CMD
2017-2018 Steve Furr, MD, CMD
2016-2017 J. Grier Stewart, MD
2015-2016 Kendra Sheppard, MD, MSPH, CMD
2014-2015 B. Jerry Harrison, MD, CMD
2012-2014 James Yates
2011-2012 Clare Hays
2010-2011 Dick Owens
2009-2010 Michael Reeves
2008-2009 Jimmy Davis
2007-2008 Michael Hanna
2006-2007 Robert Webb
2005-2006 Steve Furr
2004-2005 David MacRae
2003-2004 Jim Yates
2002-2003 Kevin Jackson
2001-2002 Jimmy Davis
2000-2001 Tom Geary
1999-2000 Mickey DiChiaria
1998-1999 Bill August
1997-1998 Michael Reeves
1996-1997 Jerry Harrison
1995-1996 Jack Whetstone
1994-1995 Johnnie Stevens