About Us

Welcome to ALMDA, the Alabama state chapter of AMDA — The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine. Our mission is to provide the highest quality medical care and compassionate service in Alabama's long-term care facilities, which are among the most challenging medical environments.

By joining both ALMDA and AMDA, members can access a range of benefits, including free webinars, national advocacy, networking opportunities, clinical practice guidelines, and specialized education designed to help them succeed in the long-term care field. We encourage you to explore membership in both organizations to benefit from the educational opportunities and professional connections available fully.

We offer various membership categories to accommodate healthcare providers at all levels of patient care. If you have any questions or need assistance in selecting the right membership category, please get in touch with our Director of Specialty Society Management, Meghan Martin, at mmartin@alamedical.org.

We invite you to join us in our collective efforts to prevent suffering and advocate for our frail and vulnerable population.

Mission Statement

The Alabama Medical Directors Association is the professional association of physicians and other professionals practicing in the long term care continuum, dedicated to excellence in patient care by providing education, advocacy, information, and professional development.

Charles Nevels, MD, Tuscaloosa

2023-2024 Board of Directors

President

James "Steve" Donald, MD, Chatom

BOARD OF DIRECTORS:

Board Chairman: George C. Smith Jr., MD, CMD, Lineville

President-elect: Carlos Clark II, MD, Dothan

Secretary-Treasurer: William Ben Lee, MD, Marion

BOARD MEMBERS:

Julia Booth, MD, CMD, MPH, Reform (2025)
Sally M. Ebaugh, MD, CMD, Bessemer (2025)
Greg Flippo, MD, Pinson (2024)
Boyde J. Harrison, MD, CMD, Haleyville (2025)
Ashley S. Lane, MD, Auburn (2024)
William Shane Lee, MD, CMD, Marion (2025)
Dawn Rials, CRNP, Grand Bay (2024)
Jeffrey M. Saylor, MD, MPH, Guntersville (2025)
J. Grier Stewart, MD, CMD, Tuscaloosa (2025)
George S. Sutton, MD, CMD, Mobile (2025)
James R. Yates, MD, CMD, Jacksonville (2024)

Bylaws

ALMDA Past Presidents

2022-2023 George C. Smith Jr., MD, CMD 2021-2022 Charles T. Nevels, MD 2020-2021 Sally M. Ebaugh, MD, CMD 2019-2020 Robert Webb, MD 2018-2019 Sally Ebaugh, MD, CMD 2017-2018 Steve Furr, MD, CMD 2016-2017 J. Grier Stewart, MD

- 2015-2016 Kendra Sheppard, MD, MSPH, CMD
- 2014-2015 B. Jerry Harrison, MD, CMD
- 2012-2014 James Yates
- 2011-2012 Clare Hays
- 2010-2011 Dick Owens
- 2009-2010 Michael Reeves
- 2008-2009 Jimmy Davis
- 2007-2008 Michael Hanna
- 2006-2007 Robert Webb
- 2005-2006 Steve Furr
- 2004-2005 David MacRae
- 2003-2004 Jim Yates
- 2002-2003 Kevin Jackson
- 2001-2002 Jimmy Davis
- 2000-2001 Tom Geary
- 1999-2000 Mickey DiChiaria
- 1998-1999 Bill August
- 1997-1998 Michael Reeves
- 1996-1997 Jerry Harrison
- 1995-1996 Jack Whetstone
- 1994-1995 Johnnie Stevens